Cadillac Owners Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of JULY's Ride of the Month Challenge!
1 - 20 of 193 Posts

·
Registered
2017 Silver Coast Metalic Premium Luxury
219 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Anyone having issues with the wireless charging? I purchased the charger recommended on Cadillac website. However, I drove yesterday for about 2 hrs and my iPhone did not charge at all. When I left my house my phone had a charge of 45%. When I got out the charge was 38%. The charging symbol on the screen is showing that the phone is charging though. Am I missing something?

·
Registered
XT5 prem lux, Previously 10 SRX
251 Posts
Re: Witeless Charging

In my opinion Cadillac made a mistake in the placement of the wireless transmitter coil in the cell phone slot. In my case I have been using wireless QI charging for over three years (three different phones) and currently I am using the Samsung Galaxy S5 (we have two two them) On one phone I used an internal 3rd party charging coil, and on the other we used the OEM charging back on the phone. The results are the same at home, both phones charge just fine, on three different wireless chargers, but different results in the car. On the phone with the internal 3rd party coil, the car does not recognize that the cell phone is in the slot, and of course does not charge, on the phone with the OEM charging back, the phone charges correctly in the slot. The only remedy for this was to purchase another OEM charging back for my phone so that I can charge in the slot. Also, I have noticed a difference in phone cases and charging in the car only (fine at home). If they had placed the transmitter coil in a slightly different position in the slot I think the results would be better, or use multiple coils in the charger, as other manufacturers have done, so that the position of the phone would not be as critical.