Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2004 CTS luxury package
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still very new to my CTS. (2004 3.6L)

I've notice that at all times when the ignition is turned on, and even with everything manually turned off (lights, radio, a/c, engine, etc) there are whirring and clicking noises
constantly coming from somewhere within the dashboard.

Is this normal?

If not, what do you think it might be?

·
Registered
05 CTS
53 Posts
put your ear against the cd player when it happens, I've noticed on mine it spins on very random things that activate the electricity in the car even with the keys out, ie opening the door or turning on a light..does your heating/ac work ok? the little flapper doors inside that control where the air goes are motorized and can click when they aren't working properly, adjusting the air position would cause this to happen if they are failing.. move it from feet to face to defrost and listen for the clicking

·
Registered
2004 CTS luxury package
300 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
CD player (whole radio) turned off. A/C turned off. Engine turned off. This noise happens when the key is simply in the ignition and turned to the on position, with everything else turned off that can be.

I checked for CD player noise and it's not that.

I guess I won't really know without trying to get a look inside the dashboard. Somehow. Maybe pulling fuses selectively to see when the noises stop might be a good diagnostic.

However, given that this car is so computer-dependent, I'm not sure that just randomly pulling fuses is advisable.

I went to the local salvage yard today to try to find a couple of parts. I did find one, a new A/C console vent panel. Well, new enough. It's perfect. My existing one had
some finish loss on the top edge.