Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I am somewhat new to this, I just need a bit of advice on the best way to remove this piece (pictured below). It's just to the left of the distributer and has a vacuum hose going to the air cleaner assembly.
IMG_20200724_141908815.jpg

I accidentally broke it changing some vacuum lines today, it still runs and drives fine but I have the same piece on my parts car which I would like to put in, I just don't know how I would remove it without breaking it. Thanks for any suggestions.

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
69,854 Posts
See the large hex at the bottom of the vacuum valve? The whole thing unscrews - just like a temp sender or oil pressure sender.

That's a temperature controlled vacuum porting valve. Note that the lower (brass) part screws into a water jacket.

Be very careful and use the correct sized wrench. Maybe a tad of pipe dope on the new valve's threads. Parts stores.

·
Registered
'84 Eldorado and Seville
1,375 Posts
Very carefully. I'd spray it with "Free All" or some other similar rust penetrating product to make it easier to remove. Maybe do that for a few days. I'm thinking one of those wrenches that has a hinge to get to it at an angle. The threaded stem isn't very long. It probably should break loose easily. I know a PITA to get a wrench on it. Seems like I changed that on my '84 Seville when I had the valve covers off.

That is an emissions part, EFE valve vacumn. part number 3049626. There are new ones on eBay.

Use some anti-seize high temp compound on the threads when you replace it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4