Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,394 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
All of my infinity speakers came in today and I'm about ready to tackle them. I've been doing stereo work for 20 years now so don't think it will be a problem. Anyway, I pulled the A-pillars off today to check the ohm's of the factory tweeters since I''ll be replacing those next. The damn things don't read anything on my meter. There's a cap on them to cross them over but even with that I should get something. The wires leading to the tweeter have an ohm load of 2.5 if anyone is interested. My question is this. Infinity offers two different tweeters that I would probably go with. They have a 2 and a 4 ohm version. I'd like to use the 2 ohm Kappa series but don't know if that ohm load even with there supplied crossover may be to low for the factory amp. I reallly don't want the door speakers over powering the factory tweeter because I like the staging right now. I know that everyone has said that with the tweeters in the 6 1/2's in the door's has been bringing the staging down. (Other thread) One option is to not hook them up I guess but I would really like to replace the facory tweeters anyway. Any of you audio gurus have any input???? These are the tweeters I would like to use.

http://www.woofersetc.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=product.display&Product_ID=2937

Shane

·
Registered
270 Posts
You'll be fine running 2 ohms. Tweeters don't require anywhere near the power a sub does to push. You may need some adjustment, but the crossovers should have a jumper/switch for that.

·
Registered
1,685 Posts
Where is the factory crossover for the front stage? I was thinking of buying a 2 ohm component set from Image Dynamics and using the factory to push it, but I would have to cut into the full range factory signal before this crossover. Only problem is I have no idea where the hell it is...