Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
93 Cadillac Seville, My first car
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello again everyone

I have a new question that needs to be resolved, apparently my car makes a loud grinding noise from the front of the car and it appears that its coming from the transmission, with that in mind what might the issue be

·
Super Moderator
White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
86,779 Posts
Re: Newbie here

Not much to go on. Does it happen in neutral? In gear? Only while moving? RPM or speed related?

A grinding noise from the trans can't be good (if that is in fact where it is coming from).

·
Registered
'02 ETC ECS#533, '05 Escalade, '05 AWD Magnum, '74 455 OLDS
1,948 Posts
Re: Newbie here

2 months later? Are you drivin' it like you stole it?
Convertor will make noise in gear & usually not in park.
Chain sprokets will make noise in park, go away in drive & come back while moving.
Gear set will make noise while moving & change with the shifts.
Diff will make noise while moving & not change with the shifts. (most common in 4T60E)
Whichever one, not good.
Are you sure it's a trans noise?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Hello Cadillac community, I have a problem that needs to be resolved. I took my car in for service about a month ago and the mechanic told me I need to replace my transmission because the chain is missing. I was curious if the chain can be put back on or do I need to get a new transmission?:confused:
I enjoy the skepticism, the car was brought to the mechanic to fix the motor mounts and do some routine maintenance. The symptoms the car is experiencing are; a rumbling feeling in the gas pedal during acceleration, transmission will lock up and wont shift, the car also gets stuck in park when trying to drive and the transmission jumps when i brake.

any help is appreciated whether its sarcastic or not.

·
Registered
2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP), 1972 Sedan Deville
26,323 Posts