Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2014 CTS Vsport Black/Black
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Took it to the road race track

Last weekend, the Lone Star Region PCA had a reunion event for all previous instructors at Texas World Speedway (TWS).
TWS is my "mother track" as I've been driving there since 1971 and its where I have more laps than anywhere (and I've driven all over the US & Canada).

So, I took the Trifecta-ed CTS Vsport out and beat on it for a bit on a real race track under open track conditions.
Settings were "track mode" and I left the nannies on.

Comments:
- The Pirellis are less than adequate and generate all kinds of goofy slip angles while giving little grip. They do squeal a lot.
- The shock settings, while firm for the street, really allow a bit more chassis roll than I would prefer, but it was consistent and manageable.
- There is more understeer than I like. I've mentioned this before and would like to find a stiffer rear sway bar. (hint-hint Hotchkis)
- There is adequate power from engine. I saw right at 150 into turn 1 and that was limited by the lack of grip coming onto the long TWS straight. I was also going VERY fast into what should be the uphill flat-out Turn 7 but I did not trust the car to stay on the track through there and had to dab the brakes to get enough front grip.
- There is not enough brakes to seriously track this car. Not surprising really, but while they didn't fade I think that was because I didn't abuse them as much as I like. This could be fixed with pads, maybe because initial bite was weak. But put aggressive pads in and heat build up and you will go down that slippery slope.
- The intercooler cannot keep up on the track as performance dropped as the session went on.

So, I had fun.
I've beat the snot out of the car and lived to tell about it.
It's not bad at all for a two-ton luxury car and is plenty fast for a daily driver.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Cool.