·
Registered
1987 Brougham
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
wheels.jpg

wheels 2.jpg

http://reading.craigslist.org/cto/5400241140.html

I have dreamed of locating a set of true spokes for my 1987 Brougham. She is in nice driver shape. I posed her here before. The problem is very hard to find and expensive. I found this sad, sad car online. It has the spokes but I know nothing of what to look for regarding buying a set. I asked the seller for clearer pics. Can you folks offer this newb any advice?

Thanks!

Phil

·
Registered
96 Fleetwood, 94 Fleetwood, 07 CTS, & 94 Caprice Wgn
628 Posts
Being from PA, rust would be the first thing to look at. But, for $400, you can't really go wrong; take the wheels, harvest the parts you need, sell other parts and scrap the carcass. Between selling parts and scrapping what's left, the wheels should be free. If necessary, you could have them rechromed.

I'm sure you can spot the chrome wheels, but to me they look like hubcaps (but I am no expert).

Good Luck, if it has the wheels you want, go get it.

Tom

·
Registered
1987 Brougham
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Tom!

My baby does not need any other parts. Whew!!! She is a bit of a pampered girl. I feel terrible about scrapping the rest but I might just off the harder to find parts first.

Anyone know if a good cleaning polishing on rims is something someone with no experience can do?

·
Registered
1980 Eldorado, 1974 Talisman, 2004 Volvo C70, 1975 Fleetwood 'd Elegance
7,950 Posts
First of all, your baby needs other parts, you have just not been made aware of them yet!:lol:
We could all give you some suggestions of what to keep if the deal goes through.

Those are wire wheels not hub caps, I do not know of original, or after factory.
I bought a set of 80 spokes for my 74 and they had rust and silver paint on them. I have only done one, but it came out nice with brass brush on Dremel tool.

·
Registered
1987 Brougham
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #5