Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
99 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey,
after checking with the one distributor Timesert has in canada, i found that the GM kit will cost me.. you guessed it, $850 about, before tax (15% here) - and that's shop price, it retails at about $950.
now considering i spent about double that to buy the car, i don't feel like putting so much more into it just to replace the threads in the block, that seems ridiculous.. so now it's time to consider my alternatives.

the salesman we spoke with is looking into pricing the individual parts for the kit. now, are the parts that come with the kit anything special? or are they all standard parts. could i buy the bits and such from somewhere else, such as a machine shop? i wouldnt think that drilling and tapping a hole then inserting a timesert would require special equipment. of course, i have no experience with the kit, so correct me if i'm wrong. i'm just looking for an affordable alternative to not timesert, but the GM kit. i'd rather avoid paying for all the markups and GM branding as well, i'm assuming.

thanks for any help, i'm gonna go get some shuteye now.

·
Registered
8 Posts
I just finished timeserting my 98 STS and hope to have it running again this week. I just put the engine in last night. If you are still looking for a Timesert kit email me at [email protected] Additionally I will share my experience of doing it myself with you if that is of interest and/or help. If I had it to do over again I would do a couple of things differently. It's called the learning curve.

·
Registered
3,531 Posts
A new timesert kit is for 1 head. You have to order inserts for the 2nd head.

Cooper, did you see the headgasket thread in tech tips? If you have stuff to add, add it to that thread so it stays easily available.

·
Registered
2,538 Posts
I've read a lot about the N* and the head gasket problems.
And I keep hearing reference to needing to timesert the heads?