Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've got 2 '93 DeVilles. They have been great cars but I'm thinking of moving up. I have very little experience with anything '96 and newer. Thinking of buying an '05 to '12. What should I look for and wondering what I should stay away from? About the only thing I do know is that I would like to stay away from the Northstar. I would like a car that is just as good if not better than the '92 and '93 models were and a car in similar size as well.

Any info would be appreciated.

·
Registered
610 Posts
Just curious since my 06 V Northstar has over 105,000 miles, why do you dislike them? BTW I loved my 91 Coupe.

·
Registered
226 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know some have had good luck with them, but they don't have the best recommendation out there. Not only from this site all through the years, but it is also the word around town in the garages and repair shops here. This is on the older ones anyway, not sure about the newer ones, but glad to see that you are happy with your Northstar.

The '91 to '93's are great cars. I'm still keeping at least one of mine though. I got my other one just about wore out. Had it 12 years now and it's got close to 230,000 on it.

·
Super Moderator 2003 Deville Base SEMPER PARATUS
4,331 Posts
agree with Jakerin, what is your reluctance about the N*? My '03 has been bulletproof and I just passed 150K. The '04 and up should fair even better.

·
Master of the Dark Art of Diagnostics
18,816 Posts
the BEST upgrade from a 1993 Deville would be the 1995 Sedan Deville with the 4.9 motor -

I bought a LOADED Deville - it had EVERY option Cadillac offered -
I LOVED that car - put 176,000 miles on it - MANY of those miles were towing a 2000# bass boat -
that's the longest I ever kept a car and the most miles I ever put on a car -
besides regular maintenance - I replaced the injectors at around 135,000 -
and rebuilt the trans at 136,000 -