Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all in Cadillac land. I have a fun project I am embarking on that has been a long term plan of mine. I just picked up a 91 Brougham 113k decent interior very clean underneath starting to peel vinyl and mediocre paint, a Florida car. Simultaneously I have a very low mileage but badly rotted 1995 9C1 Caprice. Knowing these cars are extremely similar underneath here's my plan, a 9C1 Brougham or a Brougham SS if you like.

Perhaps the ultimate sleeper and a highly capable and comfortable road car. F41 suspension with bilstein's, heavy sway bars and the disc brake rear swapped in. 9c1 spindles and control arms with 12" rotors in front. A slightly modified LT1 5.7 v8 approximately 350 hp just to add a little spice. Swapping out the 700r4 for the 4l60e with ecm, tcm and full harness from the Caprice.
This should be a fairly straightforward endeavor provided all the fasteners come apart. Would anyone know if the double hump crossmember from this B Body is going to work on this big C Body? All comments are welcome.

·
Super Moderator
2003 Deville Base
4,702 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Since you're asking specific questions about a specific car, let's move this to that page and you'll get more help that way.

·
Registered
224 Posts
Interesting.
The LT1 is not the go to for performance anymore, but you already have it.

The crossmember from 95 is different from your typical GM RWD car.
Forgot why. Maybe it had brackets the connected the top & bottom of the C channel to the crossmember.
With a saw, welder, & drill you could come up with something.

Can't say for sure about the driveshaft, but would guess the Brougham one would work.

The upper control arm bushings are a high wear item.
Many cars are blown out.

The 9C1 steering box is much better but may require the pitman arm & steering linkage off the Brougham.