Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
37,297 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I got my CTS a couple months ago, whoever had detailed it before I got it left me with lots of micro fine scratches all over the car. Hood, decklid, doors, panels everywhere. They were not bad, but under any kind of direct sunlight they were highly visible.

Today I finally got down to it. I used Meguire's Mirror Glaze 9 Professional Swirl Remover 2.0 with a 7" orbital buffer. The bottle says to use a high speed rotary buffer, but I have read where it is very easy to ruin your finish with those if you are not experienced.

Well, the oribital and the Meguire's did the job. I am far from a pro, but I examined every panel from every conceivable angle under incandescent light in my garage and sunlight out in the driveway. The scratches are completely gone. This stuff is the ticket. I hope it lasts at least a little while.

·
Registered
2012 Escalade, 2014 SRX
13,353 Posts
To keep your car mostly swirl and scratch free make sure your towels are 100% cotton, or good microfiber towels, wash mitts should be either 100% cotton or sheepskin, use two buckets to wash your car with, one with clean water and the other with car wash and water. When washing, waxing or drying go in the same direction i.e. bumper to bumper, not circular, that can cause swirls. All these things will help. :)

·
Registered
37,297 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Actually, I only take the CTS to the touchless car wash. And drying is done by air :)

Any remaining waterspots are removed with slightly damp cheesecloth.

·
Registered
1988 SDV; 1997 SDV D'Elegance
1,401 Posts
Those Touchless Car Washes just leave your car with a layer of wet, shiny dirt - they do squat for getting the filth off the paint - just run a white towel over your paint after you go thru one of them for the proof.