Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new with car audio and want to try a small DIY upgrade. Can anyone recommend the best route to go? I've done extensive searching and really don't know which is best.

My objectives/notes:
* I have the base system.
* Relatively low cost.
* Keep the factory head unit.
* I'm not looking for a comp system; just a modest improvement.

Option #1:
Replace stock speakers with Kappa coaxial speakers. 2 ohm in the front and 4 ohm in the rear. Possible replacement of the tweeters in pillars. Add a single channel amp and replace the sub with a free-air Perfect 10"

Option #2:
Replace stock speakers with Kappa coaxial speakers. 2 ohm in the front and rear. Possible replacement of the tweeters in pillars. Add a five channel amp for all of the speakers. Replace the sub with a free-air Perfect 10"

Two additional questions:

1. Will I need a cleansweep?
2. The Kappa's I purchased have built-in crossovers. Will this work with standard wiring? Has anyone installed the 52.9i's?

·
Registered
06 CTS Sport/Luxury package
9,820 Posts
I do not know how the clean sweep works. But I do know this, if you are going to keep the factory radio. Then you would need to grab the speaker level wiring from the factory amp. Then of course attach a speaker level to line level converter. Reason being is because the volume, fade, balance and EQ are done in the factory amp.

As for the other stuff, I have no opinion on it. Sorry

KOT

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Is it worth the extra work/money to put the 5 1/4 on a seperate amp? Has anybody replaced the sub and left the door speakers on the factory amp?

I am still replacing all 4 door speakers though.

·
Registered
Cadillac CTS
86 Posts