Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1,531 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is this an okay alternative to all four? My dealer's tire dept. does this unless all four are requested. I'd be able to save a few $$, but the front tires would wear out at a different rate than the stock rears (obviously).

At any rate, I'd probably go with all four, but was just wondering if there is a serious performance advantage b/t running two and four snow tires.

·
Registered
2014 Cadillac CTS VSport
2,318 Posts
I am no tire expert but I do know that cars in general are supposed to be running 4 of the same tires with the same thread patterns. The wear issue is probably the most important issue and it could eventually cause traction issues when one wheel will be spinning faster than another because the tire diameter will be different because of the wear.

·
Registered
Black the Darkside
22,415 Posts
Chuck C said:
Is this an okay alternative to all four? My dealer's tire dept. does this unless all four are requested. I'd be able to save a few $$, but the front tires would wear out at a different rate than the stock rears (obviously).

At any rate, I'd probably go with all four, but was just wondering if there is a serious performance advantage b/t running two and four snow tires.
Chuck,
Anything you can do to increase grip is worth while. The current trend is snows on all four corners. I makes good sense to me and 4 is the choice I made. I new designs look a lot like regular treads and are very quiet. I went with Pirellis from the Tire Rack online store.

·
Registered
2005 CTS
214 Posts
Be careful with running just two snow tires.

On a snowy commute several years ago, I saw a young lady pay for such a mistake. It was an Acura Integra with Blizzaks on the front and all-seasons on the rear.