Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Deville
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a professional Toyota / Subaru mechanic and new member. After some searching I found this super cheap crashed Deville.
I am trying to have a running , driveable luxury cruiser on a budget. So far I'm on target. The car was in decent condition until it was wrecked.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364134136.738203.jpg
The good side.
ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364134164.352600.jpg
The other side.
I spent a few hours with hammers and pry bars getting the fender mounts in line and putting on this tester fender that came with the car.
The stock front wheel was smashed in the crash. They put the rear on the front and doughnut on the rear.
The shop I bought it from did a half shaft , strut and control arm in that corner. I'm praying I can align it to drivable condition.
I was also worried about the head gasket. No bubbles in the res when I rev the engine and it passed smog. I'm worried because it has a coolant leak, smells like coolant and I found a thermostat in the trunk. Time will tell. Despite all the trouble of rebuilding this car I'm really glad I found one that has the color combo and features I was looking for. I wanted silver ext black int and the cooled seat option.
So far my kids and dog have enjoyed sitting in the car. I hope my wife comes around soon. ImageUploadedByTapatalk1364134728.587936.jpg

·
Registered
2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP), 1972 Sedan Deville
26,323 Posts
:welcome: and good luck with the project.

FWIW, the definitive test for HG issues is a block test, not looking for bubbles. The Northstar doesn't show any of the typical symptoms of HG failure (smoking exhaust, mixing coolant with oil) until the later stages.

·
Registered
2004 Deville
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #3