Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey, I'm new to this so any help reguarding my idiocricy is welcomed.

anyways i've just inherited my uncles 89 cadillac sedan deville and the only thing he told was wrong was there was a short in the power antenna, well when i pressed to power button for the radio nothing happened, didn't expect it to do anything but a cassette wont go in, guessing radio has to be on before it accepts the tape

when i went in the trunk to look at the power antenna i noticed that there were two plugs one heading back into the car and one heading into the motor. i found a recepticle for the plugs and upon inserting them the motor turned on instantly and made a loud clicking noise and nothing else happened....the radio didn't turn on or anything.

basically im trying to just get the cassette part to work, radio is secondary. is there a switch or something that the power antenna hits when it extends? i checked the fuses btw and nothing seemed out of the ordinary except i have a fuseless hole in number 3 and i dont see anything to accept the fuse...

any help reguarding this is greatly appreciated

·
Registered
7,658 Posts
I think the radio can turn on, but the power antenna not go up.... Meaning the radio powers on, and then the power antenna motor kicks in...

This is kinda weird..... Im going to move this to the electrical forum..... :)

Welcome to the forums..... thanks for signing up :wave:

·
Registered
2,795 Posts
The radio should work even if the antenna is unplugged. You mentioned a missing fuse, are any other power accessories not working, since the radio usually uses two fuses, a body fuse and a radio fuse. Either fuse will prevent the radio from working. If the body fuse is missing, alot of stuff will not work, and this fuse is hot at all times. The other fuse is the radio fuse, it is only hot when the key is on.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4