Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2009 CTS-V
2,018 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First i'm a rookie as you will soon see. I just installed the drop in filter tonight but was wondering about the fit. I tried to line it up to the edges around the box and never got it to fit. So...I just dropped it in after I added the sealant, tightened it down, ran at idle for 15 minutes-no alarms and did a quick run and no alarms and idled again for 15 minutes.
Please tell this filter just drops in and you're done. If not, what do i need to do or what is a sign of an improper installation? Again, I'm a rookie and trying to learn but thought this is something i should be able to do. Looking for quick feedback

·
Registered
36 Posts
I installed the K&N filter in the stock air box - no problems with fit and I did not use the grease supplied with the filter. if you are concerned with fit, did you check to see the K&N filter you have was the correct one for the V? Mine fits perfectly.

·
Registered
705 Posts
It's not a exact perfect fit. And no need for the bead of grease... I have already spent time with K&N Tech Support on this issue. But am very happy with it.

·
Registered
2009 CTS-V
2,018 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
it's the right filter but not the perfect fit i was expecting. I did use the "grease" before others told me i didn't have to. The good thing is, I've been driving all day and have not notice any issues so i'm ok, i think. Thanks for the feedback. I love this forum.

·
Registered
CTS-V
798 Posts
dqw1 said:
it's the right filter but not the perfect fit i was expecting. I did use the "grease" before others told me i didn't have to. The good thing is, I've been driving all day and have not notice any issues so i'm ok, i think. Thanks for the feedback. I love this forum.