Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
Escalade
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to buying rims.
I currently have the stock 17" x 7.5" rims for my Escalade.

I noticed when I was searching around on the web, there are many places that sell rims. Most rims have a bigger diameter and width.

My question is, will the bigger rims fit for my car? I am afraid the tire will hit the wheel well when I turn the steering wheel.

Also, I am concerned that the rims might be meant for a lighter type of car, I wonder if it can handle the weight of the Escalade. Should the rims be rated for weight?

I am leaning towards the 18" rims, any suggestions.

Thanks.

·
Registered
1992 STS / 2005 MB G500 / 2003 STS / 2006 XLR-V
11,694 Posts
This has been covered to death here, do a search for "rubbing, rub, or "will my tires rub"" and you will find all the info you possibly want on what offsets, sizes, etc. you need to fall within to make sure you don't rub. I don't think you're going to be even remotely close to having a problem with 18's. Hell the Escalade Platinum runs 20+ inch rims STOCK.

·
Registered
Escalade
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
What about weight capacity?

Is it possible the rims to be made for a sedan or coupe and won't be able to handle the weight of the Escalade?

·
Registered
2007 Escalade, 2005 CTS
788 Posts