Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
02 Seville, 04 SRX
1,343 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have an 02 Seville which is riding on the stock 18" wheels off an 06 Deville. Just as the Deville would come with 235/50/18, this is the tire size I chose to put on my car. A few months ago I had a shop align the tires. Each of the front tires have developed a terrible wear pattern. The outside (1 inch or so wide) on each tire is worn bald, the remainder of the thread, while thin, seems to be normal.

The guys at the tire place claims that since the car is stock on 16"s it is set up to drive on them. He says; because I went too large, the terrible wear has occurred. I think he is giving me BS. If you look at a tire calculator online, the change from the stock tires to this size is fairly exact. I just want to know for sure before I proceed to the next step, which is of course "giving him shit".

·
Registered
96' Eldorado, 00' Volvo 770 N14+ 525HP
154 Posts
Im no tire pro and am not sure how much sidewall you got, but I have upgraded my wheels as well, I put 245/45r17 on. They are low profile tires with hardly no sidewall, compaired to my stock 16"s. I love the upgraded "tight grip" on curves they have given me, but a caddy is no honda civic(wieghtwise). I have noticed the outter edge on mine wear a little quicker also, I just rotate them every other oil change to keep the wear down a little. When they get too thin im going to get some with a little more sidewall, like some 255/50's or bigger. Just remember a caddy is a boat! I just try to slow down a little more when turning. Besides go easy on the tire guys, its not thier fault the dont have a tire changing degree! :)

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
69,127 Posts