Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone know, or has heard of, any 1990 Eldorado that has remote keyless system with a key/fob?

I just was wandering if it was a factory option in 1990 if it could be retro fitted to a 1990 that didn't come with it.

Thanks guys

Jim
 

·
Master of the Dark Art of Diagnostics
Joined
·
18,814 Posts
Does anyone know, or has heard of, any 1990 Eldorado that has remote keyless system with a key/fob?

I just was wandering if it was a factory option in 1990 if it could be retro fitted to a 1990 that didn't come with it.

Thanks guys

Jim
============================
I don't know if it was standard - but is was at least an option -
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
131 Posts
If your car has power door locks that work then you can have an aftermarket starter/alarm/door/trunk unit installed for about $250-$300. I had one installed on my '88.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
If your car has power door locks that work then you can have an aftermarket starter/alarm/door/trunk unit installed for about $250-$300. I had one installed on my '88.
Yes , it has power locks.

It may even had a remote fob when new, I dont know how I would know this.

I know I can lock/unlock with the key and slides on inside door.

Can you give me more info on the system you installed?

I see all kinds of aftermarket remote systems on amazon for 15-30 dollars.



Jim
 

·
Master of the Dark Art of Diagnostics
Joined
·
18,814 Posts
================================
It may even had a remote fob when new, I dont know how I would know this.
try this -
look in the trunk - right near the latch assembly - for a loose GREEN wire with a plug on the end that isn't connected to anything -

this green wire gets grounded to put the car in the PROGRAMMING mode to match a remote fob with the car -

IF you DO have this GREEN wire - try the first 2 steps -
Step-by-Step Programming Instructions:

  1. Insert key into ignition and turn it to the ON position. Do not start the car.
  2. Access programming connector in the trunk of the car. It will be located next to the latch for the trunk lid. There will be a single green VAC connector wire. The connector will not be connected to anything. Secure a jumper wire or paper clip to jump the connector. Touch the clip or wire to the inside of the connector and to a bare metal surface of the car to ground the connection. Locks will cycle from lock to unlock to signal entering on programming mode.
  3. Press the unlock button on the remote being programmed twice. Locks will cycle again confirming successful programming. Repeat this step for additional remotes.
  4. Remove jumper wire to exit programming mode. Test all remotes. Programming is complete.
if the locks cycle - all you need is a fob -
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thank you Basscatt,

I will look for that tomorrow, and hope that it is there and I will ground it, if it is, and see if the locks cycle.

fingers crossed...:)

Thanks again, I'll let you know.


Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
Thank you Basscatt,

I will look for that tomorrow, and hope that it is there and I will ground it, if it is, and see if the locks cycle.

fingers crossed...:)

Thanks again, I'll let you know.


Jim
Well, shucks,
I looked in the trunk at the trunk closer assy for a single green wire ,
NO such luck, only the connector for the closer.

I'm disappointed, that this awesome car did not have that remote entry option.
With the factory continental kit, the only way to open trunk is PB in the glove compartment ,
and the ignition key has to be in and on. Very inconvenient.

I would still like to look into adding it.

Thanks basscatt.


Jim
 

·
Master of the Dark Art of Diagnostics
Joined
·
18,814 Posts
Well, shucks,
I looked in the trunk at the trunk closer assy for a single green wire ,
NO such luck, only the connector for the closer.

I'm disappointed, that this awesome car did not have that remote entry option.
With the factory continental kit, the only way to open trunk is PB in the glove compartment ,
and the ignition key has to be in and on. Very inconvenient.

I would still like to look into adding it.

Thanks basscatt.


Jim
========================
too bad -
next step would be to contact an auto stereo shop and see what they have to offer -
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
81 Posts
I'm disappointed, that this awesome car did not have that remote entry option.
With the factory continental kit, the only way to open trunk is PB in the glove compartment ,
and the ignition key has to be in and on. Very inconvenient.


As an alternative to having the key on while pushing the trunk button, I rewired mine to operate without the key in the ignition. Thus, while loadng groceries or whatever, I unlock the passenger door, push the PB in the glove box and the trunk opens. Not the most efficient way to do it but doesn't cost anything. That trunk mounted fake spare wheel looks OK but whoever designed it didn't make any provision for unlocking the trunk with the key.

I also made an extension piece brazed to a trunk key to add the necessary length to reach the lock cylinder through the spokes on the fake cover. PITA to carry around in your pocket for when you want to open the trunk but I did it for gigs and whistles while the car is in the garage for repairs. That is when it is the most convenient without constantly running around opening doors to access the PB.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)
In my feeble minded way....I just gotta think that there is a wireless relay/reciever of some sort , that a person could wire into that whole door lock, and trunk lock circuit to wirelessly operate it.

I have electronics experience from the 70s and 80s , but wireless came later, after I retired from it.:bigroll::)

Maybe I will just do some research in that direction,

I just remembered that I bought 2 of these little gizmos , 2 years ago, to operate a LED light bar on my truck,
I remember they were under $3 each, that's why I got 2.
and it works great to control the light bar, up to 12 amp.

IMG_20190522_150033311_HDR.jpg

Just wire the little receiver inline with whatever, .

I am thinking (out loud) that I could wire it inline to the necessary wire of the trunk operator, and it would open.....just gotta push again to turn it off.... hmm.

May even be able to buy one that actually does a momentary pulse.


Any thoughts??
https://www.walmart.com/ip/Smart-Home-433Mhz-DC-12V-1CH-nbsp-Wireless-Remote-Switch-Relay-Receiver-Transmitter-Universal-Remote-Control-Switch-Module-RF-Transmitter-Remote-Cont/224382626?wmlspartner=wlpa&selectedSellerId=18988&adid=22222222227271837704&wl0=&wl1=g&wl2=c&wl3=327856776155&wl4=pla-617204343046&wl5=9014661&wl6=&wl7=&wl8=&wl9=pla&wl10=125210027&wl11=online&wl12=224382626&wl13=&veh=sem&gclid=CjwKCAjw5pPnBRBJEiwAULZKviarBKMJfnhmgeL7Fd38rcyiXxMKf7inlXJaAuSvqp8WFvEt2x9DMxoC42YQAvD_BwE

Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #13
Ok , did a little snooping in the car.

The push button switch in glove compartment has a blk wire coming from ignition (hot when key is on) and a blk wire that goes directly to the trunk release solenoid.

I'm thinking, if I run a hot wire to the switch in glove compartment and
Basically parallel a wireless switch to the one in glove box, I got a wireless trunk release.

and, if I find a wireless remote switch with 2 functions, i could do the same thing with the door locks.

Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
743 Posts
Yes on the first

You need to check if the original switches are controlling the 12v+ wire or the ground. Then run wire accordingly.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Yes on the first

You need to check if the original switches are controlling the 12v+ wire or the ground. Then run wire accordingly.
I was concerned about that also.
So I dug thru the 3" thick Service manual , and found the electrical schematic for that glove box switch and release solenoid,
It is switching the 12V+ wire not ground.

Thanks for the reminder though.

I will do the wiring change, and add 2 wires parallel to PB switch ....then test by touching the wires together ....if that works, ( no reason it shouldn't)I will be ordering a wireless switch, hope I can find a 2 function(2 button) switch.:)


Jim
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
40 Posts
Please post the details and pictures if it’s useful and not a bother. I have a Deville and an Eldorado I’m following your lead on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Please post the details and pictures if it’s useful and not a bother. I have a Deville and an Eldorado I’m following your lead on.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I will follow up with what I end up with.
I'm old, with a bad heart, and its in the 90s with high humidity , here in west Ky, so bare with me.

I have no doubt that I can buy a remote wireless transmitter receiver that will do exactly what I'm wanting to do for opening the trunk.


As stated earlier , these cheap little wireless switches work great on my 30" LED light bar, and I did quickly find one that will do momentary switching.

This little brainstorm has now led me to wanting to do the door locks also....more research/homework will be needed.

Thinking a transmitter with 3 buttons and 1 single throw switch (trunk solenoid), and one double throw switch to lock-then unlock door solenoid or relay.


Jim
 
1 - 18 of 18 Posts
Top