Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
2010 CTS
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so I just graduated and have started my new government job starting at 60k a year. now, ive been pretty much obsessed with the new CTS. im pretty much convinced i NEED to buy one right away. a VERY small piece of me is saying not to buy this car and build up my money. and the rest of me is saying go ahead and get this car. so im pretty much gonna buy one at this point.

now, i need somebody to pursuade me not to buy this car if you think i shouldnt because im certainly not listening to the part that doesnt want to buy. if you think i should go ahead and do it, i still wanna hear what you wanna say.

·
Registered
2010 CTS-4 3.6 & 2008 SRX-4 V6
950 Posts
I don't know what your financial situation is, so I can't really give you any hard and fast rule. When I graduated, I had money in the bank, owned a car and had no debts. I bought my first new car within a few months of starting to work at a place with great job security. My first new car was far from a CTS I can tell you that but, it costed me ~1/2 my gross salary at the time and was paid off within a couple of years. I kept that car ~4 years and my next new car was nicer but more modest in terms of %age of my salary. As I was getting close to house downpayment years, modest was a good strategy.

My advice? Don't let yourself get chained down financially by a car - if buying a CTS won't do that to you, then go ahead. Buying a CPO '08 CTS will give you the same satisfaction as a brand new '09 or '10 but will look (and feel) far more financially responsible.

Another thought: it's hard to come down to a minivan from a luxury car when kids, childcare, and mortgage payments take you there. I've been there...

·
Registered
2017 ATS-V Sedan, Vector Blue/Black, 6MT
1,001 Posts