Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1996 eldorado
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all I'm new to this and I'm also new to Cadillac ownership. I bought a very good 1996 Eldorado Florida car no rust and only
130000 kms.I like the car very much , I really like the lines. I am however becoming disenchanted rapidly. I've owned the
car for about 5 months and already have had to replace alt. a/c compressor among other things then the prindl started
flashing and anti-theft message came up, I tried a veriety of things to no avail then took it to a small shop that had it for
about a month then took it to the dealership for proper diag. they said all things pointed to the pcm, replaced it and all was
well for about 2 wks when all of the sudden the prindl started to flash and anti theft message appeared as well as my a/c
control unit when black. Car started and ran and for some reason I turned on my headlights by pulling out the knob and low
and behold the prindl stopped flashing and message disappeared and the a/c control unit came back to life, so every time I
turn the lights off everything gose nuts and back to normal with headlights turned on manually. Has anyone heard of this
and my question is, is the headlight switch assembly tied into the anti-theft some how. Any assistance would be gratefull,
I'd really like to like my car again and be able to trust it
THANKS

MIKE

·
Super Moderator
2010 DTS
87,551 Posts
Re: prindl flashing

:welcome:

What's a "prindl"?

A good place to start is by pulling the DTC's. Post them AND their definitions. See the DTC Sticky at the top of the forum page if you need help. Keep in mind that '96 was the transition year from OBDI to OBDII so any codes definitions you don't find in the OBDII link will be in the OBDI link.

·
Registered
2001 Seville STS, 1990 Seville (RIP), 1972 Sedan Deville
26,323 Posts
PRNDL: Park, Reverse, Neutral, Drive, Low. The shift indicator.

Some people believe it's a word (prindl).

·