Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Escalade V8 6.0
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just purchased a used 2002 Escalade V8 6.0.

Found out that the following are out/not working:

-Passenger side driving light
-Entire right side(passenger) section of 3rd brake light out
-Lighter/power socket not working (under stereo)

Since I'm new to the vehicle, I would like to know if these are possibly all connected before I start digging in and spending money on parts. I've seen that the entire 3rd brake light bar is expensive.

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
03 cadillac escalade
11,902 Posts
They are not connected to each other

The console outlet is on a fuse labeled cigar

I would check the bulbs first before probing the wiring on the passenger brake and tail light

----------

I forgot to mention in order to remove the taillight housing to replace the bulbs first you will need to open the hatch then you will see two Phillips screws
Remove them and the housing will be free from the truck

·
Registered
28 Posts
The front head lights have 2 pins that hold them in. Its very easy to remove the lights and replace the bulbs.

Not sure if the 3rd brake light is serviceable?

·
Registered
2002 Escalade V8 6.0
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you both.

You were correct, the fuse labeled "cigar" 15A fixed the cigarette lighter socket. :)

I figured out how to access the front daytime driving bulbs and will change them as soon as I can.

Lastly, I removed the 3rd brake lamp and inspected it. Reinstalled and right side was still dim, but more than I had before. I tapped lightly on top and it lit fully. :) I'm assuming there is a short inside, but like you said I don't believe it is serviceable.

Thanks again to both of you.

·
Registered
2001 DTS, 2005 Mustang GT, 2010 MINI S
1,121 Posts
Escalade third brake light.....they can be rebuilt with warranty. See...

http://www.ledfix.com

Hard to find...they get hit by garage doors all the time.