Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts
R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've started getting the P0008 code. I got 130,000 miles out of it before it started setting that code,though. On startup,it doesn't make near the noise as the SRX on youtube, so I guess it's not critical yet.

R

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Is it my imagination or does the transmission shift funky with this code set? It also has an all around loss of power it seems.

·
Registered
2007 SRX4 N*, 2004 Infinity G35 Coupe
2,005 Posts
Is yours a V6? I am no mechanic and don't have a code reader. IF YOU HAVE THE 3.6L V6 SRX THIS MAY HELP YOU.

Some with this engine have had issues, sometimes premature, with stretched timing chains or cam actuator issues.
Either do a search on this forum for "P0008 code" or "timing chains." There is a ton of info. available here on the forum. Or......you may have to cut and paste the link below.

http://helpforcars.net/obd_codes/p0008_cadillac.html

" P0008 CADILLAC DescriptionThe Engine Control Module (ECM) monitors the position of both camshafts and the crankshaft. The ECM performs a test for misalignment between both camshafts on one bank of the engine and the crankshaft. During the test the ECM learns the position of the camshafts and the crankshaft. While the engine is idling, the ECM compares the position of both the camshafts and the crankshaft with the learned value. The ECM will set the P0008 code if both learned values for one bank of the engine are exceeding a calibrated threshold in the same direction.

Symptoms-
Engine Light ON (or Service Engine Soon Warning Light)

Possible Causes- Engine mechanical problems
- Incorrect timing chain
- Stretched timing chain
- Failed camshaft actuator or actuator solenoid