Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2005 STS V8
208 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone upgraded a 2005 STS to dual mode Onstar?
This time, I have been talking with my dealer for over two months trying
to get an upgrade. OnStar tells me that an upgrade should not
be a problem, my dealer says they can't get the necessary
info from OnStar to do the job.
Cadillac promised an upgrade for my unreliable analog personal calling
in April, when that did not happen they promised to do it in Sept.
Still no upgrade.

·
Cadillac Technician
none
11,051 Posts
I am new here, so forgive me from dragging this up without having read back a great deal.

It's actually called an "OnStar Digital Upgrade".
The reason you need it is because next year most businesses that have anything to do with transmission of any kind of signal will be required to begin switching their networks to digital. Now while you may not think this is a big deal, I have heard in the wind that the FCC is going to start revoking analog licenses next year and most companies are not going to want to maintain and operate two types of networks, analog AND digital. Therefore you will find that an analog system will soon become obsolete. Sadly that leaves most of us with analog units that there are no upgrades offered for in the dark.

If it's available for your vehicle you can purchase an upgrade package.
GM should take care of the labor but you have to pay for a 3 year contract to make it worth OnStar's while to get you an upgrade. This starts at a meager 549 dollars and works it's way up from there depending on the level of service you want.