Cadillac Owners Forum banner
  • Hey everyone! Enter your ride HERE to be a part of MAY's Ride of the Month Challenge!

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so yes i am a caddy tech and i should knwo a trick to doing this but i work on lifts all day and im not as handy on the ground.

so i see a ton of fluid on the front of my motor right around the timing cover on the firewall side, i beilieve it to be atf since the oil is brand new and still full but the atf was at the cold line way after the car reached N.O.T. i then saw that my axle shaft seemed to not be pushed in all the way into the tranny i could see about a 1/4 inch portion of the shiny end of the half shaft, i dont really wanna drive aroun like this as it makes a horible shudder on accel.. but i really cant think of an easy way to push the shaft in all i have available is a jack, the one the car came with, and my tools how do i get enough leverage to pushthe shaft is when its too low to get a pry bar on the jack goes about a foot and a half.. and when i push it feels like the car is gonna fall onto me. i have all kinds of tools but no shop air so im tryin to find a trick to gettting it popped in where i dont have to take the spindle nut off is this possible on the ground? or should i just man up and pop the ball joint and remove the nut?

-BMC

·
Registered
82 fleetwood - 97 deville
452 Posts
ok so yes i am a caddy tech and i should knwo a trick to doing this but i work on lifts all day and im not as handy on the ground.