Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie so forgive me! But I've had my 93 STS for about five years now and it's always gotten what I thought was pretty poor mileage. It's about 9-11mpg city. I checked it out manually starting with a full tank so I wasn't just relying on the on-board computer.

I tried talking to the shop at the local dealer here about it, but they sortof shrugged me off and said that mileage wasn't so bad and they didn't think there was anything wrong.

On the other hand, I've read about people getting much better mileage than this. I've had the problem not just in LA's awful traffic, but in rural Florida it wasn't much better. Am I nuts or is there potentially a problem I can get serviced?

Thanks for your advice!

--Joe

·
Registered
520 Posts
jzapert said:
Hi, I'm a newbie so forgive me! But I've had my 93 STS for about five years now and it's always gotten what I thought was pretty poor mileage. It's about 9-11mpg city. I checked it out manually starting with a full tank so I wasn't just relying on the on-board computer.

I tried talking to the shop at the local dealer here about it, but they sortof shrugged me off and said that mileage wasn't so bad and they didn't think there was anything wrong.

On the other hand, I've read about people getting much better mileage than this. I've had the problem not just in LA's awful traffic, but in rural Florida it wasn't much better. Am I nuts or is there potentially a problem I can get serviced?

Thanks for your advice!

--Joe
Well, I can't tell you what's wrong, sorry. But there's something definatley not right. I have a 92 Eldorado and I get about 18-19 in Tampa traffic. You've got a pretty significant problem, and I'd think something should show up in the codes. There's no way that motor's running right, and the computer has to be recording something. Try and see what codes come up, then everyone will have more to go on with this.