Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1990 Cadillac Eldorado 4.5 PFI
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I just purchased my 90 Eldorado with 101K on the clock. I feel very lucky as the Caddy is in excellent shape. I will post pics soon. I am a service manager for a large used car chain. My experience is mainly with Fords so I am learning a little about these Eldo's. I previously owned a 91 Coupe DeVille that I did a little work on so I know a *little* about the 4.x engines. Okay, onto my questions.
First, I flushed the cooling system, added the seal tabs,(see, I know a little) cleaned out the throttle body and egr tubes(extremely carboned up) and did a little de-greasing in preperation for new intake gaskets in a couple of weeks. So my first issue/question is this. I need to clear the check engine light that is on now. The code is E048, EGR system fault. I cleaned the EGR tubes and repaired a vaccum line in an effort to correct the condition. I entered diagnostics via the off and warmer buttons, then proceeded to clear the memory after the computer displayed the coded by pushing the OFF and HI buttons at the same time. I held them down for a solid minute and all I ended up doing was re-starting the diag process. How do I reset the memory through the on-board diagnostics with this Eldo?