Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Cadillac CTS 3.6L
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm a big cadillac fan, and where I'm from seems like honda's rule, so I'm gonna change that. My fav car as a kid was the first gen CTSV. I've had a normal 05 cts for a while now and im on the way to upgrading to the V hopefully 06-07. ONLY THING STOPPPING me is the big question for me.

Is it worth buying a first gen low miles (around 50k) V AND modifying it for a DD and occasional highway pulling car with the differential problems? Let me get more specific, I understand theirs some company that has the whole set for like 3500 but is way unnecessary or financially practical. The MAIN reason for me getting this car primarily is to modify it, not incredibly heavily but a nice cam, tune, kooks headers, ram intake etc. BUT I want to know how much it would cost for a Reliable differential swap? I understand theirs some 8.8 option but like i said im a noob to all of this.

So, I want this car and for this swap Im hoping not to shell out more than $1500 in parts and labor, also hoping if its somewhat not to complicated maybe me and my father can do the labor. Ive heard 4th gen diff's go used for around $700? Regardless I don't want this car If I have to keep replacing the Diff which Absolutely breaks my heart........ :( But im just a 22 year old guy who a cadillac dream haha, Don't get me wrong I've prepared financially but not gonna throw away my life for it.