Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
03 CTS
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the fourm, my husband and I have an 03 CTS. We have need having intermittent starting problems, we read on here, that it was the Crankshaft Position Sensor. We replaced it today, and now it will not start at all. The fuel pump is working, but there is not fuel on the fuel rail. We are really not waiting to tow it and get it fixed by someone else..we like doing our own work. Oh yea, before we replaced the sensor we didn't have a code for the sensor, now we do and it won't start. Any help if very much appreciated. Thanks!

·
Registered
629 Posts
By not starting what do you mean exactly? Will it crank? Or not even turn over? If the fuel rail is empty check the fuel pump. When you turn the ignition on without starting the vehicle you should hear the fuel pump turn on and prime the system. If you don't hear it prime, check your fuses and relays, if those check out okay you know your fuel pump is bad and needs replacing. Now if it does not turn over at all, you need to check the starter relay. If that good turn the ignition on and jump the relays on the starter itself. If it starts you have and ignition problem, if it does not turn over your starter would need to be replaced.

·
Registered
03 CTS
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It will turn over, but that is it. We hear the pump and the relay, when we have key on engine off.

·
Registered
629 Posts
osbornects said:
It will turn over, but that is it. We hear the pump and the relay, when we have key on engine off.
how about your fuel filter? I'd check that unless you know it's been replaced.

·
Registered
03 CTS
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
how about your fuel filter? I'd check that unless you know it's been replaced.