Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1992 STS / 2005 MB G500 / 2003 STS / 2006 XLR-V
11,694 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello All,

I am new to the Cadillac world. I have owned several vehicles in the past, and am probably one of the few people who has traded something german (had an 03 Passat), for a Cadillac, but needless to say, I sat behind the reigns of my 2001 White Diamond Seville STS for the first time about two weeks ago. Since then I have been on a business trip to California, however in the time ive been gone, my brother who is caring for the vehicle has reported that it is has stalled at idle one time, and lost power on the freeway slightly once also. The codes that the dealer pulled showed that the Crank Position Sensors were to blame for this, but that they are on national backorder from GM. Is this really the possible problem or is there other issues that are more common? A search online for NORTHSTAR CRANKSHAFT POSITION turned up very little if nothing at all.

I knew going into this my vehicle would probably be in service more than the average car, but hopefully this is not a trend. I purchased this beautiful car from a Caddy dealer (have always wanted an STS and better yet a 2001 Since the premium lux package includes xenon lights) for stupid money knowing full well the history of the vehicle (had been a buyback for a repeated steering issue, but GM replaced the steering rack and slapped on another 1yr and 12k of warranty coverage and with just 26k miles I figured that was good enough for me).