Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2003 CTS
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been looking around for a cool daily driver and I've discovered the CTS and I'm way impressed... Where have these cars been all my life?

Please bear with a few FNG questions...I actually did a Google search for a few things and came up mostly empty. I'm down to purchasing either a low miles (45k) 2003 CTS with the sport package or a base 2007 3.6 with 76k. I'm concerned about 2003 being the first of the CTSs and the 3.2 engine.

I see a lot online about the 3.2 vs the 3.6, some of it on here. Which one do you guys prefer? Is the 3.2 a Cadillac-only engine? I'm a decent mechanic (probably a lot worse and a lot better) with access to a very good shop, lift, air, etc...

I've read on here about the suggested trans cooler mod. Got it...anything else to look for?? The 2003 has had the head gaskets replaced (way early, like 7k miles, according to the CarFax) and a heater core replaced. Is that common shite?

I like the 17" wheels on the 2003 vs the base 16" wheels on the 2007. Will 18s fit on a first-gen CTS? Will second gen wheels fit on a first gen? I ask because I see a lot of wheels listed on here.

I get used cars and the inherent risk, but I want to know what to look for and I believe in asking enthusiasts for their opinions. I'm a Jeep guy and believe me, there's a huge underground following with them that has proved invaluable.

Thanks, guys...I'll send pics when I buy one.

Fred

·
Registered
05 CTS
53 Posts
3.6 is better imo, but you WILL have problems with the timing chains, oil consumption, and the driveline. iirc the 3.2 is the 3.6 but with a thicker sleeve in the cylinders to reduce displacement/power and give it better gas mileage. none of the problems are very difficult to remedy however.

----------

smaller wheels perform "better"

·
Registered
04 cts
12 Posts