Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
NONE
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
My first post here. Please forgive me if I ask silly questions but I'd really like your advice
on 1978 Cadillac Coupe DeVille (2 door). One showed up locally so I arranged to see it. It turned
out to be a beauty, gold/brown color, 1 owner 50K KM on car, all original, including radio and CB (with
"Cadillac" written on it). It has very little rust, mostly a bit on the engine. It starts right up. drives A++
and idles evenly, purrs. There are a couple of issues. One windshield wiper doesn't work and the
trunk lock needs attention and I think that's it. I was already to purchase the car but then had a
quick look at what wiper motors go for and was shocked. Online retailers quoted
over 500 bucks. Are parts really that much more expensive for a Cadillac vs say a Buick for the
same year? I have some experience with Buicks, mostly from my parents and parts were always
very cheap. I don't know what I should do. I love the look and feel of this DeVille but the prices
for parts made me rethink my plans. I'm won't be doing my own servicing so makes me wonder
about the cost too, vs a non-luxury car......
Can you give me some advice? I really want this car but if it's gonna be so expensive to
fix and maintain, I'd be worried. I have no problem putting 1000K or so per year
on maintenance / servicing but am worried it's gonna turn out to be 5 x more! Oh, and by the way,
the seller (who's a old war veteran) only wants $3000 for it (about 2400 USD). Thanks for any and
all advice.

·
Registered
1980 FBC
3,163 Posts
Grab a wiper motor from a later junker. They were quite similar for many years. Stay far away from anyone or anyplace that quotes 600 dollars for a wiper motor for this car.

Best of luck!!!

·
Registered
1979 Phaeton Coupe, 1990 Brougham d'Elegance 5.7 liter
4,416 Posts