Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello everyone!

I'm new to this BB, I was wondering if anyone could help me out? I'm looking to purchase a 95-96 Caddy STS NorthStar. Upon further research I have read that the NorthStar has an oil consumption problem that some claim is Normal? Due to a manifold/head gasket or head bolt that backs out and requires a time insert, cylinder rebuild or new motor? I also heard that the 94-95 tranny's tend to crack? Basically if anyone could give me advise on:

What to look for/avoid?
What years to stay away from?
Common problems (ac compressor, eletrical)?
How to find service codes/and what they mean?
Sensors to look for that go bad?
Extended Warranty post factory (I heard certain ex/warranty's found a loop hole not to cover motor problem....GE was one of the only one's that i know does)?
Anything and everything u could tell me would help!

I found a fully loaded all options sts white with 72,000 miles for around $7000.00, do you think this is a good deal?

Thanks!
Loeyboy:)

·
Registered
3,531 Posts
The oil consumption and the head gaskets are two distinct problems.

I suspect the oil problem stems from infrequent oil changes. The rings stick in the grooves. This is from sludge buildup as a solvent squirted into the cylinders and left overnight usually fixes. This is not unique to Caddy's but the low tension rings used in most newer engines contributes to this. 5.0 Mustangs had the same problem.
The head bolt problem exists too but there is a thread on the board for long mileage without major repairs so not all N* have this problem either. I think frequent (every 1 to 2 years) antifreeze changes reduces headgasket failure.

The bottom line is to get maintainence records on the car you buy. Dealers don't normally have those unless all the work was done at that dealer. A private party sale might have all the reciepts available.