Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
See you in the funny papers
04 CTS-V, 05 STS, 07 SRX- All sold :(
26,239 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I got this link in an email from a fellow gun owner, and I don't quite know what to make of it. I'm no lawyer, therefore I don't read legal mumbo-jumbo very well, but from what I can make of this it isn't good.

To the untrained reader (and maybe to the trained one as well), this certainly seems to be a bill seeking to establish a National gun owner registration system that will track gun owners, require you to submit for an ownership license, require you to notify the Attorney General's office within 90 days if you move, submit to random inspections to ensure compliance with gun safety rules, permit the Attorney General to access your classified mental health records, and charge you a licensing fee for doing so.

This is not like legislation aimed at assault rifles- this is ALL guns. From section 3 of the bill:

HR 45 said:
(2) QUALIFYING FIREARM- The term ‘qualifying firearm’ has the meaning given the term in section 921(a) of title 18, United States Code, as amended by subsection (b) of this section.

(b) Amendment to Title 18, United States Code- Section 921(a) of title 18, United States Code, is amended by adding at the end the following:

‘(36) The term ‘qualifying firearm’--

‘(A) means--

‘(i) any handgun; or

‘(ii) any semiautomatic firearm that can accept any detachable ammunition feeding device; and

‘(B) does not include any antique.’.
Here's the complete bill. Of particular interest are Titles I and III, which detail not only what privacy you must give up in order to exercise your God given and Constitutional right to possess a firearm, but also the penalties (including jail time) that it imposes for failure to secure, failure to report, or even failure to notify the AG of a change of address.