Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 1996 STS which is my wifes car. Off white with neutral interior. She & I both love this car ...she has her 96, I have a 1999 Black STS with Oatmeal interior with sun roof, extra wood package...a drop dead beautiful car. My wife's 1996 has the dreaded oil consumption problem..using about 2 qts at 1800 miles. Recently, the coolant level indication light came on and sure enough it was very low. Put in antifreeze and OK..next the oil light came on...2 qts low at 1,000 miles. My mechanic says that the old model STS's (he worked at a local Bham Caddy dealer and for a local Mercedes dealer and now on his own) had two problems, oil use and the aluminum engines actually would have bolts stripped by the large torque. Anyway, to fix the problem adequately he said we need to put in lower block seals, redrill bolt holes(helical glue?) and put new rings in. (I am an insurance agent and not mechanically inclined so I think I have missed some things) This my friend is a very expensive proposition for a car with 114,000 miles. Blue book is 4200, repair would probably be that much. I am thinking of giving my wife the 99 STS and buying a used 2002-03 STS but also must consider a Lexus LS430 and Lexus GS430. I have looked at the Mercedes CLK500 Coupe and boy is it fast but I fear expensive parts. Both the Lexus and Mercedes are in the mid to high 30's for a 2003 model. I have had excellent luck with my 1999.
Would appreciate your input. Thanks again for this forum. It has been helpful.

RS

·
Registered
3,294 Posts
I'm biased but i'd stay with Cadillac. In the early 90's my dad had a Lexus company car. It had horrible leg room in the back (even for me as a kid!) and even now he has never had good things to say about that car. I'm sure they've come a long way since then. at least I hope so.

·
Registered
500 Posts