Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Cadillac
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
this morning i went and got some mas cleaner and after i was done cleaning it i started the car it sounded a little better but i could still hear it misfiring i reved it up and i heard a snap ....................................... tried to crank it but no dice pulled back the timming cover and saw the belt was broken now the question i have is when i replace the belt do i need to change the tension pulley and is that on the water pump i just bought this car about 6 months ago and ive driven it for maybe 30 days i hope i didnt bend any valves does any one have a diagram of how to do this:confused:

·
Registered
1998 Catera
93 Posts
I just did the TB replacement - but mine wasn't broken, so that changes things quite a bit. I'm no expert, but if it broke at high RPM... ooch! You don't have to be an expert to know metal to metal at high speeds is bad. ~~Ray of Hope - When I was reading on this forum in prep for the job, I did read of at least one person whose broke while driving and didn't have any damage~~

To answer your questions...

The tensioner is not on the water pump, its just often suggested to change it while you're there since you have everything off anyway. I decided not to replace mine since it looked brand new (and I after doing the job, I didn't think it was that bad getting to it). There is one tensioner, on the same bracket as one of the two pulleys. My kit came with the tensioner and pulley attached to a new bracket. You should change the tensioner and pulleys (thats what I was told from many sources at least)

You'll have to go through the timing procedure (which I never did, since my belt was intact it was timed when I started) The Basic procedure to get to it, from memory, is:
- remove the plastic intake ducting (four bolts to brackets, about 4 sensor connectors, two intake connections to pleneum, one smaller rubber hose to pleneum)