Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
LS6 CTS-V
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
seeing as i'm new to the V there's a lot i gotta learn - hence the multiple posts-

anywho, i'm cleaning my Volant CAI today (gonna use a K&N filter cleaning kit) and i noticed the MAF has a screen on it. my 'stang had one as well but it was deleted as part of the C&L intake i put on (for even less restriction). I never experienced one problem. HOWEVER, I do know that the '03/'04 Mach 1's had the tendency to run dangerously lean when this screen was removed.

Do any of you have any experience with this? Have you removed it? Why or why not?

·
Registered
2006 CTS-V
1,415 Posts
not on the V, but I deleted the screen/straightener off of my GTP's w/o any problems. that was a huge screen and I did verify (via tune) that it didn't effect a/f

of course... that has no relevance here

·
Registered
2018 CT6E, old: 2014 XTS Vsport, 2005 CTS-V, 2004 CTS-V.
2,717 Posts
You might have idle problems or off idle tip-in hesitation. Impossible to tune for since the sensor cannot measure accurately. Usually end up buying a new MAF since they cannot be reinserted.

Norm

·
Registered
Cadillac
696 Posts
I removed the screen. ZERO issues. Actually, to the best of my knowledge, Im making more power than anyone on here with my mods.

If you remove the screen, and ball it up, and see how much surface area it takes up....id say my flow was increased.

·
Registered
LS6 CTS-V
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
^^^ thats my point! mm&ff did an article on a Mach 1. by installing a cai and removing the screen, they picked up aprox 12hp but the car ran real lean. they reinstalled the screen and lost... i wanna say 9hp!

·
Registered
LS6 CTS-V
550 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
You might have idle problems or off idle tip-in hesitation. Impossible to tune for since the sensor cannot measure accurately. Usually end up buying a new MAF since they cannot be reinserted.

Norm