Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
Cadillac CTS-V
389 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys,

Has anyone figured out a reliable launch technique that will minimize wheel hop and still get a good short time?

I was going to head up to New England Dragway and try my luck against my buddy's GTO and an ex-girlfriend's built 5.0 GT convertible, and I don't want to grenade my diff by getting bad wheel hop on the launch. I've got the upgraded TSB bushings, but nothing else, so my car hops like crazy on launch and if I shift hard.

I did a search on a few different terms and couldn't find anything meaty about launch techniques. I've seen a few discussions by people wondering how in the world GM's test drivers got a 4.6 0-60, and that's sorta what I'm wondering - has anyone figured it out? I ran a 13.35 @ 107mph when my '99 C5 was bone stock, and 13.0 @ 110mph with a CAI and B&M shifter, so I'm a decent enough driver, but I'd like to learn how to drive the V from everyone else before I even get there if possible. :)

Specifically I'd be interested in hearing from the guys who run their stock cars fast:

1) What rpm are you launching at?
2) how are you letting the clutch out? (I know you can't side step it but how long are you riding it out?)
3) what shift points are you using in each gear?

I'm pretty methodical once I get there, so I'll figure out my own shift points eventually since I try every 100rpm in every gear until I get the best time possible, but a starting point would be great!

Any advice from you guys running low 13s around 109mph?? :)

-B

BTW - I have Corsa exhaust, 255/40 BFG KDW2s, and nothing else.

·
Registered
Maggie'd 05 CTS-V
279 Posts
I'd be interested in the same info, but looks like the local test n tune night is gonna be rained out tonight :(

·
Registered
37,297 Posts
The CTS-V is very at home in the twisties and on road courses. It is not a drag racer. You must accept this. You will be much happier.

·
Registered