Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright.. so here's something I'm encountering, and I'm pretty new to detailing and cleaning so bear with me.

So I just polished and waxed the car, and now pollen, dust, dirt.. that stuff kinda sticks. It's a total PAIN IN THE ASS. :mad:

Anything I can do to make it so these little particules don't stick to my car?

Also, anyone got any good tricks they use personally when detailing, inside or out? Here's the only one I got: detailing tips at autopia

·
Registered
7,658 Posts
Basically, the wax is extra thick and sticky right after you apply it, so the best way is to wash it once...... You could also look into getting one of those dusters...... There is something about them in the detailing section, and id be interested to see how well they work!!

·
Registered
80 Posts
I would definately suggest a california car duster, they make the quick wipe much much easier. I would also carry a quick detail spray and towel in case of bird bombs.

I am not an expert on detailing, just a fanatic, but i would think one possible reason that the dust, dirt, etc were sticking to the car could be due to the fact that the wax hasnt cured yet. Other possible reasons could include "old" wax? I am not positive but i believe that most waxes have a "shelf life."

I would be curious to hear what type of polish and wax you used, if you would be willing to share?

·
Registered
103 Posts
After all the rubbing you do when waxing static elect. seems to attract dust. Just wash it and it will be less of a dust magnet.
The Calif. car duster is great. It should come as standard equip. w/black cars.

·
Registered
166 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Absolutely. Kempie, I'll have to pick up a duster. The pollen my car collects just irks the hell out of me.