Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2007 ESV AWD
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just purchased my first Cadillac! It is an 07 ESV AWD, with every option. It had almost 34k miles and is quicksilver with ebony interior. I traded my 07 Land Cruiser for this because we needed more room. Anyway, I am new to Cadillac, specifically the Escalade. I know the new 09 models have bluetooth, however, are there any changes from the 07 to the 09 otherwise? Any concerns I should aware of? I would appreciate any help/advice you can give me.
I have noticed alot of small orange colored specs on the paint and chrome. With some pretty hard cleaning, it will come off. Through research on this site I suspect it maybe what is called rail dust. This ESV came from Michagan. I am located in NC, where it will for as long as I have it. I plan to try a clay bar on it as soon as I can. I also noticed some minor places on the 22" chrome wheels where the chrome seems to be corroding and/or peeling off. Anybody had this happen?

·
Registered
2012 Escalade, 2014 SRX
13,353 Posts
Welcome and congrats on your truck. What you are seeing is rail dust as you said, claying will remove that problem, use plenty of lube and you will be fine. You can read about claying on our web site if you have never done it before. Apply a good synthetic wax product after claying will help keep the buildup down on your clear coat. If you have any questions ask away. :)

·
Registered
2007 ESV AWD
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the replay!!!
I just purchase the HI-Tech Magic Sponge, which is suppose to be a better and easier alternative. I have also been researching an acid wash. I may end up trying the sponge and the clay, then try the acid if need be. The difficult areas will be where the rail dust has formed around the emblems and so on. These areas will be difficult if not impossible to get to.

·
Registered
2012 Escalade, 2014 SRX
13,353 Posts