Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2014 ATS-4 2.0 (RIP), 2015 SRX4, 2008 STS4 V6
81 Posts
I have not seen these yet for ATS applications. Reading up on their site there is protection for uneven voltage which would shut down the lamp - this would be the type of voltage the DRLs would give out. I know some HID setups can handle this (Morimoto with canbus) not sure with this. IMHO I would order a set of capacitors and have on hand for installation.

Keep us updated on the install as well, Good luck.

·
Registered
ATS Base 2.5
36 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I'm a total noob to all of this, but can this be purchased at a local store? Also, can you perhaps share a link on Amazon or anywhere else that may offer them that will give me an understanding about them. I know I can search, but do you have a simple answer to what the difference is between a capacitor and a resister?

·
Registered
2014 ATS-4 2.0 (RIP), 2015 SRX4, 2008 STS4 V6
81 Posts
The daylight running lights operate on 12 volts that is pulsed (not steady) this allows the lamps to be dim during DRL operation. Ballasts do not like this pulsing, and typically shut down or cause lamp flickering. HID kits used for this application either have power directly from the battery with a relay harness, or good quality setups can use the power at the headlights with a CANBUS connector. This canbus connector does two functions - I believe it has a resistor component, which causes the circuit to use the same amount of power as a regular halogen bulb, therefore the car's computer does not see a 'bulb out' error with lower voltage, and has a capacitor component which acts as a buffer to store the pulsating voltage in DRL mode and smoothing out the signal to the ballast.

I am far from an expert, but this is what I understand the component do. The caviat with using a kit on an non-hid setup is that during DRL mode, the lights are running at full brightness.