Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I have a pretty good understanding of automatic trannys but...

I have been reading a lot about people "starting out in second gear." Do they mean to say that the gear selector is in "2" vs. "D" or "3"? Even still, at a stop and idleing dosn't the trany down shift to 1st. So you are always starting in first no matter where the gear selector is. Following the "start in 2nd" logic wouldn't your car start out in overdirve if it was in "D." But we know that isn't a fact. Someone please explain. Maybe my car(96 STS) is different. Hey please educate me I would like any tips for winning races and being faster off the line to beat rice and domestic. Should I hold the brakes? What RPM is best to launch the * at?

I admit I am a newbie at racing automatics. My first car is an old V8 Camaro with a 4spd . :burn:

·
Registered
253 Posts
stswillie said:
Ok I have a pretty good understanding of automatic trannys but...

I have been reading a lot about people "starting out in second gear." Do they mean to say that the gear selector is in "2" vs. "D" or "3"? Even still, at a stop and idleing dosn't the trany down shift to 1st. So you are always starting in first no matter where the gear selector is. Following the "start in 2nd" logic wouldn't your car start out in overdirve if it was in "D." But we know that isn't a fact. Someone please explain. Maybe my car(96 STS) is different. Hey please educate me I would like any tips for winning races and being faster off the line to beat rice and domestic. Should I hold the brakes? What RPM is best to launch the * at?

I admit I am a newbie at racing automatics. My first car is an old V8 Camaro with a 4spd . :burn: