Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
76 Seville W/ EFI
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So, I’m new to the Cadillac forums but, I have spent some time on the VW forums so I figured I’d make a contribution that can maybe help a few 70’s Cadillac owners out there. This is all information pulled from the factory service manual, I’m just sharing my experience.

My Cadillac is an all original 76’ Seville that I had inherited a few years ago. The car was my grandfather’s and had been parked since the early 90’s due to a major drivability issue. I could get the car to run ok at idle but, under any kind if throttle input it would just fall on it’s face and misfire like crazy! Thanks to Coronavirus and some time off work I was able to find and correct this issue.

The issue itself is very basic. On these early EFI cars the ECU is not calibrated to compensate when certain engine conditions are non-existent. In my case it was lack of EGR. When EGR is functioning properly, a certain amount of inert exhaust gas is added to the air/fuel mixture in each cylinder. If there is no EGR operation, the space normally taken up by the exhaust gas is replaced by additional air. Since the ECU has not been calibrated to provide additional fuel, and a lean condition occurs. A quick check for this issue is with the car at idle (assuming the EGR valve operating correctly) manually actuate the EGR diaphragm with an external vacuum source such as a vacuum gun. By doing this the idle should become rough. If the idle does not change, it indicates clogged EGR ports in the intake. As seen bellow.