Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Seville STS
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is there a factory radio that I can purchase that will fit in a 2002 Seville SLS-- that is NOT BOSE-- that HAS the RDS?

I work in Radio-- and the RDS is important to me. I currently don't have the RDS--- and I don't want to have to upgrade EVERYTHING to BOSE.

would like to find a Factory Radio that has RDS-- that doesn't require me buying all the bose stuff too... ANYTHING???? please help. Thank you.
 

·
Banned
2005 STS4 1SG: GM Acc Lights, Corsa, Platnium Grille, Volant
Joined
·
15,987 Posts
cant be done your radio is taped into your computer and your rds comes though that cannot do it sorry
 

·
Registered
02 STS
Joined
·
1,262 Posts
According to the sales brochure for my '02 there were only three options for radios for these cars
1) Non-Bose non RDS (STD on SLS not available on the STS
2) Bose and RDS (STD on STS available on the SLS)
3) NAV system Bose and RDS (Optional on both)

RDS radios can have the XM system grafted on...
 

·
Registered
2001 BMW M5 - Alpine White
Joined
·
226 Posts
Interesting. What is the process for "grafting" an XM system into an existing Bose unit. I am assuming that you would be able to display the XM stations on the Bose display.

What kind of hardware is needed to make this work?
 

·
Registered
2000 Seville STS
Joined
·
687 Posts
darkfuntime - RDS is Radio Data System. Quite a few readio stations around here use it. But when I go to my girlfriends house none of her stations do. It'll usually display station name and song names on your radio display. I notice when using it, my signal is a lot worse though.

MacK
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
86 Posts
:thumbsup: ty mackinback i was like rds what is that,no wonder i didnt know they dont have that in minnesota we are allways behind time here,it must be the cold
 

·
Registered
2000 Seville STS
Joined
·
687 Posts
Yea. Its a pretty cool feature. For awhile I heard RDS was a dying system (at least in Chicago land area). Then all of a sudden almost every station has it.

MacK
 

·
Registered
2002 Seville STS
Joined
·
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
yes... in Cleveland-- Actually run WMMS.. www.wmms.com

But I really want the RDS in my radio because we use the RDS in our signal. I found a radio on ebay that is NOT a BOSE from a 2000 Seville. Now I need to see if that would be compatitble with the 2002 Seville without the BOSE. Might have to call the dealer. ?????

Do after-factory radios have the RDS in em? I imagine that they do-- I would hate to put something NON factory in the car though. Would probably look bad. Any reccomendations? thx.
 
1 - 10 of 10 Posts
Top