Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2005 CTS 3.6, 2016 Malibu 1.5T
Joined
·
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have had my car for a bit more than a year, and just yesterday I noticed I had a power-cable running from the engine to the trunk. This lets me know the previous owner had a sound system installed.

Yesterday I went out and bought a small setup and I'm currently in the process of installing it.

I know I need a Line out converter (LOC)

Some have told me I need to wire it from the back of the radio.

It would be far more easy if I could take the 4 wires from the stock sub and hookup my line converter there and then wire the converter to a fuse on the rear seat.

Any idea if this is possible or if it would actually work?

if I check my wiring under the sub I have a total of 8 wires I believe, 4 that where plugged to the stock sub and the other 4 where cut.

Thanks guys :D
 

·
Registered
2003 CTS
Joined
·
2,337 Posts
never used an LOC in my 03, but I know it can be used by tapping into the subwoofer

do a search in this forum for "LOC".....its brings up a ton of info. search is a very helpful tool in the forum
 

·
Registered
2005 CTS 3.6, 2016 Malibu 1.5T
Joined
·
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did look into it, but did not find a clear answer. I got the basics of it. connect loc to sub wires, run loc to a fuse so it will power on the amp when the car turns on.

I just took off my seat and found two thick wires on silver that says rocksford and is clear, that one runs to the front of my car and is not hooked up to anything, and I just found another thick wire leading to the trunk.

It is red, and wrapped in black ducktape in spirals.

also found a very thin clear wire and two otherwires in a clear gray color. these seem to run to my factory sub-woofer. or amp.

Thanks again guys.
 

·
Registered
06 CTS Sport/Luxury package
Joined
·
9,818 Posts
You might of found cables from the head unit that powered aftermarket amps. Which probably totally by passed the factory amp.

If you don't know, the factory amp is located in the trunk on the driver side behind the side carpet. There is no amplification done in the factory head unit, so no need to use a LOC from there. Also, all of the sound adjustments are done in the factory amp. Therefor all of the audio coming from the factory head unit will not change. No fading, balancing or volume control can be done from the wires between the factory HU and amp.

So if you are solely installing an aftermarket amp for a sub, then you'll need to install the LOC out of the factory amp. So that when you make sound adjustments, especially volume, your sub will change too. Keep in mind that the Bose factory setup uses a single sub voice coil. While the base factory set up uses a dual voice coil sub.

KOT
 

·
Registered
2005 CTS 3.6, 2016 Malibu 1.5T
Joined
·
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks alot for the information KOT, I just removed my radio and found two RCA cables that lead back to the sub woofer, and a thin cable as well. They are unplugged. I will upload pictures soon.
So the best option is to get the signal from the stock amp into my after-market amp correct?

I dont have a bose system, I have the regular single cd radio.

Here are some pictures guys.
http://imgur.com/a/hdQE2#0

----------

I found the stock amp, so could I basically I can just tap into those wires? with the LOC?
or how would I go on about doing it? sorry for basically wanting things spoon fed, I am just not very wise with audio systems.
 
1 - 5 of 5 Posts
Top