Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 98 Posts

·
Premium Member
2003 Cadillac Seville STS
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! My car has a misfire on cylinders 7 and 3 mostly 7 it seems. The misfire completely goes away when I warm the car up to operating temperature. I’ve swapped injectors around, replaced spark plugs with denso double platinums, changed intake plenum boot and intake manifold gaskets, I sprayed everywhere trying to find a vacuum leak. I replaced the back coil cassette and ignition control module, all to amount to nothing. It’s still misfiring and nothing changed. I just did a compression test on those cylinders on a cold engine and they both read around 170psi which is pretty good to me especially on a cold engine. I’m out of ideas. What would cause this that I haven’t already checked?? Why is it worse when I first start the car? I have an Autel MK908 scan tablet and all the sensor signals seem normal to me but then again I’m not an expert. Please help!!!

·
Administrator
2002.5 F55 CORSA STS, 2014 Explorer XLT FWD
69,052 Posts
EDIT: Welcome to CF !!!!

P 0300 is the generic code for "Miss Detected'. You probably got the actual cylinder numbers from your tablet scanner.

Did you check each plug boot/spring for carbon tracking ? A faulty boot will cause a miss that is murder to find. Also, check the inner connector for the removable ICM in each coil cassette.Tricky.

AC Delco (DENSO) 41-987 plugs only.

A miss that clears up after warmup MIGHT be due to condensation affecting one or more spark plugs by grounding some of the spark. Use a tad of silicone dielectric ignition grease in each boot top and tip. Any parts store, dirt cheap.

Also check the cassette coil connector area for cracks or discoloration - a cracked coil/tower WILL cause a miss. Both cassettes and their ICMs are identical except for color. The cassette ground springs must be clean and "springy".

coil-boot-plug 1.JPG
2011-07-09_100054_carbon_tracking.jpg