Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1998 Catera
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone I'm quite new to this board but I had a few questions that I could not answer with a search. First off, I am a student at Coastal Carolina University and I'm new to the world of cateras. I have owned several highly modded turbo cars(Talon TSi, Turbo II RX7, and a turbo civic) and I have always made sure that my vehicles could be readily tuned and modded. On these vehicles I was able to run a Apexi Power FC on the RX7, and chipped P28 w/hondata in the civic, and a AFC II w/ datalogger on the talon in order to alter timing,monitor knock sensor activity, and other parameters that must be watched when properly modifying any forced induction vehicle. Since the purchase of the catera a week ago (1998 model), I have seen a few used steinmetz opel omega superchargers I would love to try on my car, but I can not locate any sort of ECU tuning tool in order to safely boost the car. I would like to know from anyone with first hand experience, what do you run in order to tune your catera??
So to list, I would like any information on:
1-proper injectors for a catera on 4.5-6 psi
2-ECU tuning/ datalogging options

I am not seeking anything crazy from this vehicle, I would just like 250-280hp SAFELY. I am aware of the fairly high compression ratio so boost will have to stay very low, but if it is eventually boosted, I would like to do it the correct way the first time. I know this is not the kind of vehicle that is readily modified here stateside, but I figured I would test the waters out and see what options are realistically out there. If there are no tuning options, I will probably just settle on bolt-ons and a small shot of nitrous (40-50hp jet max). Thanks everyone for reading this rather long post and I am looking forward to the replies.

·
Registered
2 1997 Cateras: black&ocean green
698 Posts