Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 92 seville sts. I think the engine is a 4.9 liter. Anyhow, the waterpump is squirting out water when it gets hot, kinda like a small squirt gun. I'm mechanically inclined, and would like to try and replace it myself. I've never done one before, but by just looking at it, it looks easy. Does anybody have a step by step for changing this out, and does anybody know if i'll need any special tools. I found the waterpump today brand new for about $38.00 (not a reman). I just want a little guidance before i proceed. Thanks for any help!

James

·
Super Moderator
White Diamond '03 DHS (with DTS floor shift)
86,781 Posts
Had my 4.9 for 125K and never had to change it so I can't tell you too much. I believe it is accessed throught the right wheel well. No special tools that I am aware of. Hopefully someone with expirience will chime in.

·
Registered
108 Posts
did this a couple months ago - if you're inclined to replace it yourself here ya go.

1) drain the coolant
2) remove the serpentine belt (use a 1/2" drive in the tensioner to lever the tension off the belt)
3) remove the battery
4) remove the coolant overflow tank
(you may not need to do this - but you'll thank me later if you do it now)
5) remove the bolts holding the waterpump pulley - a strap wrench really helps for this 'cause it give you something to hold onto - a small oil filter wrench will work (experience talking)
6) remove all the fasteners - there are a bunch of small nuts and bolts, a few fairly large bolts and one TORX fastener - the smaller ones were either 10 or 11 MM, the larger were 12 or 13MM - wish I could remember for ya but it's been a while. The fasteners near the firewall are a real pain to get to - you might have to resort to box wrenches rather than a rachet - I know I did.