Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
first off my name is chris and i am the proud owner of a '91 sedan deville

i kinda found this forum in desperation....it goes a little something like this....

i have had a rough idle and check engine light on for about 2 months....and have drastically failed th eemissions test...gas mileage is around 10-12 in the city

just recently had a tune-up(everything) and replaced the converter(broken up inside ...probably due to running so rich)...the tech told me that the hard code was an 85 and that it directed him to clean the throttle body....which he did and cleared the code....only for it to reset a few minutes later....he told me to take it to the dealer

now...i am not a total newb....just out of practice so to speak...mainly an R&R guy....but i do have a good understanding of how things work

i just recently learned about the on board diagnostics..... and was planing on tackling the problem myself.....i was told the code was indictave of a possibly faulty TPS....which i had intentions of working on next week.....

last night i went to start the car....and nothing...just endless cranking....so i tried the onboard diagnostics...i am not sure what everything meant

1-E
2-EE
3-E85(as before)
4-E91(new...park/safety switch?)
then some numbers - .70?, 100?, .070?

i am really lost(and broke)....so all the help you can give me would be greatly appreciated

thanks

-chris

*edit*....i also wanted to add something...when i put the car in drive...there is this annoying clicking/popping sound...if i go from p to d to r to d again it will go away....i really have a feeling all of this is linked together seeing it all started at the same time....i could be wrong though

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
would a faulty prndl switch cause a no start condition?...i would imagine it would cause a no crank....but the engine cranks over fine

·
Registered
2,795 Posts