Cadillac Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6,471 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yeah KC,
I was thinking that very thing while I was writing it. I was wondering how hard you'd jump on it, and of course you didn't let me down.
You're right too. Unfortunately, with me, I was always a speed freak and motorcycles were my outlet. So motorcycles had to be FAST and HANDLE great. I started out on dirt bikes and LOVED getting airborne. Got into motocross, and then a little road racing up at Pocono Raceway. Once I got my license, I started getting into bikes that were fast AND handled. That's what got me going on 2 strokes. To be honest, I had close to a dozen bikes before I finally got a 4 stroke bike (a Honda 750F). The 2 stroke dirt bikes with their wildly explosive power bands were intoxicating to me, so when I started riding the Yamaha RD's/RZ's and Kawasaki H1's and H2's, I was again in love but this time on the street. Unfortunately, the 2 strokes lacked the on-road comfort and long-term durability that I wanted (and found in 4 strokes).
So bottom line, I never got into Harley's mainly because they were the opposite of what I loved. They were slow and handled about as good as a lawn tractor. Later in my cycling career, I might have gotten into Harley's except for the fact that virtually everyone that had one thought it made them a hard-ass, and that is just not me. I can't buy something that tends to be a status symbol. Whether it symbolizes wealth, or a specific personality type (like an outlaw breed). That's originally why I wouldn't even LOOK at a BMW, or Saab, or any of those preppy cars (now yuppie cars). That's also why I haven't really ever looked at Corvettes either. They started being the symbol of mid-life crisis and white trash just trying to be cool.
Sorry I'm off on a tangent but it's been snowing here since yesterday and we're about 2 feet deep outside right now. In other words.... CABIN FEVER!!!!!!!

·
Registered
2,235 Posts